Cookies information uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Close banner


See the latest information and advice in Exeter. We are closely monitoring the situation and working with the government and NHS, who are well prepared to deal with this virus.

2021 Police and Crime Commissioner Election

Please note: the Police and Crime Commissioner elections are taking place on 6 May 2021 and will run alongside the local election for Exeter City Councillors and for Devon County Councillors

The Police Area Returning Officer (PARO)

Each police area has a Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) who has overall responsibility for coordinating the election and announcing the results of the Police and Crime Commissioner election in that area. 

The Police Area Returning Officer for the Devon and Cornwall Constabulary is Mr John Street, who is based at Exeter City Council.

However, each local authority within the police area will be responsible for conducting the election process within their own area. The local authorities within the Devon and Cornwall police area are:

Cornwall Council, East Devon District Council, Exeter City Council, Council of the Isles of Scilly, Mid-Devon District Council, North Devon District Council, Plymouth City Council, South Hams District Council, Teignbridge District Council, Torbay Council, Torridge District Council and West Devon Borough Council.

Contact details can be accessed by following the links on the Regional election information page.


Voting at a PCC election

There are two columns of boxes alongside the candidates’ names on the ballot paper.  One column of boxes is for voters to mark their first choice candidate with an X and one in which to mark a second choice with an X. Voters don’t have to mark a second choice if they do not wish. If there are only two candidates standing at the election, the result will be calculated on a first past the post system, based on the first column choice.

If there are three or more candidates, the Police and Crime Commissioner is elected using a system called the Supplementary Vote (SV).


About Police and Crime Commissioners

Further information about the role of a Police and Crime Commissioner can be found on or


Candidates Information

Information relating to the candidates who are standing at this election can be found on from 4pm on Friday 9 April 2021.

When this content has been updated

Last updated 17 March 2021