NOTICE OF ELECTION

Police and Crime Commissioner election for the Devon and Cornwall Police Area

- I. An election is to be held for the Police and Crime Commissioner for the Devon and Cornwall Police Area.
- 2. Nomination papers can be obtained from the office of the Police Area Returning Officer on the 3rd Floor, Plymouth City Council, Ballard House, West Hoe Road, Plymouth, PLI 3BJ, between 10am and 4pm on any working day after publication of this notice.

Copies of the nomination papers can be downloaded from <u>Police and Crime Commissioner Elections 2024 | PLYMOUTH.GOV.UK</u> Copies can also be requested by emailing paro@plymouth.gov.uk

- 3. Nomination papers can only be hand delivered to the Police Area Returning Officer on the 3rd Floor Plymouth City Council, Ballard House, West Hoe Road, Plymouth, PLI 3BJ, between 10am and 4pm on any working day after publication of this notice but no later than 4 pm on Friday, 5 April 2024. Candidates and agents are advised to book an appointment to submit their nomination papers by emailing paro@plymouth.gov.uk
- 4. The £5,000 candidate's deposit can be paid: (a) by legal tender, or (b) by means of a banker's draft from a drawer which carries on business as a banker in the United Kingdom and made payable to Plymouth City Council, or (c) by electronic transfer of funds. Funds must be cleared before the nomination is considered valid.
- 5. If the election is contested the poll will take place on Thursday, 2 May 2024.
- 6. New applications to register to vote must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer (contact details below) by midnight on Tuesday 16 April 2024. Applications can be made online: <u>https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote</u>.
- 7. New applications for a postal vote or by postal proxy, and amendments or cancellations of postal or proxy arrangements, must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer (as shown below) by 5 pm on Wednesday, 17 April 2024. Postal vote applications can be made online at <u>Apply to vote by post | Electoral Commission</u>
- 8. New applications to vote by proxy must reach relevant Electoral Registration Officer (as shown below) by 5 pm on Wednesday, 24 April 2024. Proxy applications can be made online at <u>Apply to vote by proxy | Electoral Commission</u>
- 9. Applications for a Voter Authority Certificate or an Anonymous Elector's Document valid for this election must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer (as shown below) by 5pm on Wednesday 24 April 2024. Applications for a Voter Authority Certificate can be made online: www.gov.uk/apply-for-photo-id-voter-authority-certificate
- 10. Applications to vote by emergency proxy on the grounds of medical emergency or for work/service reasons must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer (as shown below) by 5 pm on Thursday, 2 May 2024. The medical emergency must have occurred after 5 pm on Wednesday, 24 April 2024. To apply on the grounds of work/service, the person must have become aware that they cannot go to the polling station in person after 5 pm on Wednesday, 24 April 2024.

Voting area	Address	Contact details	Telephone
Cornwall Council	4S County Hall, Treyew Road, Truro TRI 3AY	voter-registration@cornwall.gov.uk	0300 1231 115
Council of the Isles of Scilly	Town Hall, St Mary's, Isles of Scilly TR21 0LW	elections@scilly.gov.uk	01720 424545
East Devon District Council	Blackdown House, Border Road, Honiton EX14 IEJ	elections@eastdevon.gov.uk	01395 517402
Exeter City Council	Paris Street, Exeter EX1 IJN	electoral.services@exeter.gov.uk	01392 265141
Mid Devon District Council	Phoenix House, Phoenix Lane, Tiverton EX16 6PP	elections@middevon.gov.uk	01884 255255
North Devon District Council	Lynton House, Commercial Road, Barnstaple EX31 IDG	elections@northdevon.gov.uk	01271 388277
Plymouth City Council	Ballard House, West Hoe Road, Plymouth PLI 3BJ	elections@plymouth.gov.uk	01752 304866
South Hams District Council	Follaton House, Plymouth Road, Totnes TQ9 5NE	elections@southhams.gov.uk	01803 861434
Teignbridge District Council	Forde House, Brunel Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 4XX	electoralservices@teignbridge.gov.uk	01626 215104
Torbay Council	Town Hall, Torquay TQ1 3DR	electoral.registration@torbay.gov.uk	01803 208008
Torridge District Council	Riverbank House, Bideford EX39 2QG	elections@torridge.gov.uk	01237 428739
West Devon Borough Council	Kilworthy Park, Tavistock PL19 0BZ	elections@westdevon.gov.uk	01822 813604

Electoral Registration Officer contact details

Dated: 20 March 2024

Tracey Lee, Police Area Returning Officer

Printed and published by the Police Area Returning Officer, Plymouth City Council, Ballard House, West Hoe Road, Plymouth, PLI 3BJ