Members Allowances & Expenses

Show all parts of this guide

1. Members Allowances

Members are entitled to receive certain allowances and expenses in recognition of their various duties in accordance with the approved Councillors Allowances and Expenses Scheme.

Current Scheme for 2017/18 (with effect 1 April 17)

Allowances payable to Members of the City Council for 2017/18 were approved at Executive on 6 December 2016 and Council on 13 December 2016.

Please see the Minutes of Annual Council held on 16 May 2017 which includes the list of appointments for 2017/18.

Executive Report December 2016 - Members' Allowances

Executive Report December 2016 - Minutes

Basic allowances

Basic Allowance payable to all members per annum is £5,050.

Special responsibility allowances

In addition to the basic allowance the following special responsibility allowances are payable:

Special Responsibility Allowance  Amount 
Leader £16,410
Executive members with portfolios  £8,840
Executive members without portfolios  £2,530
Chairs of Scrutiny Committees  £5,050
Chair of Planning Committee £5,050
Chair of Licensing Committee  £3,790
Chair of Audit and Governance Committee  £2,530

Following the Annual Meeting of Council held  on 17 May 2016 , and confirmation of appointments for the Civic Year 2016/17.  Minute 5 of Council confirmed an increase from seven to nine  Portfolio Holders.  (Executive had now been increased to its maximum of ten Members made up of nine Members with Portfolio and one Member without Portfolio,  the Leader of the Opposition)

*Any Member qualifying for more than one special responsibility allowance is paid the higher allowance only.

Mayoralty allowances

Expenses Allowance  Amount
Lord Mayor £5,050
Deputy Lord Mayor £1,260


Scheme for 2018/19  - 20/21

Following the Executive held on 12 December 2017 and Council on 19 December 2017, the allowances to be payable to Members with effect 1 April 2018 were approved.

Please see the Minutes of Annual Council held on 19 December 2017, and the Executive report and minutes held on 12 December 2017: