Cookies information uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Close banner

Bank holiday bin collections

All bin collections following a bank holiday will take place 1 day late from 27 May to 1 June. See our Bank holiday bin collection page for further details.

Honours and twinning

Show all parts of this guide

1. Honorary Aldermen

Under the Local Government Act 1972, we may:

“confer the title of Honorary Aldermen on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past members of that Council”


Honorary Aldermen of Exeter
Alderman Bestowed
Mr R.J. van Oppen 1981
Mr R. Yeo 1996
Mr A. Williamson 2001
Mr J.F. Landers 2002
Mr R.J. Hill 2007
Mr B.T. McNamara 2008
Mrs M.E. Evans 2009
Mrs V.A. Dixon 2010
Mr J.H. Coates 2011
Mrs M.E. Danks 2011
Mr J. Winterbottom 2015
Mr M. Choules 2016
Mr N. Shiel 2016
Mrs S. Brock 2018
Mrs M. Baldwin 2018
Mrs O M Foggin 2021
Mrs L Robson 2022
Mrs R Lyons 2022
Mrs Y Henson 2023