Cookies information

exeter.gov.uk uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Close banner

Topsham Ferry

Face coverings are no longer required by law. The government suggests that you continue to wear a face covering in crowded and enclosed spaces where you may come into contact with other people you do not normally meet.
You may wish to continue to wear face masks on the ferry, and for further passenger safety we continue the policy of a maximum of six customers to travel on the ferry.
We continue to have hand sanitiser on board and regular cleaning of hand rails etc is still being carried out.
Thank you for your time in this and please be patient should passenger queues occur.

Exeter City Council Topsham Ferry (by Passage House, Ferry Road)

Our ferry runs across the river Exe, between the landing in Ferry Road at Topsham, and Topsham Lock on the western bank of the river.

Please note: The Exeter City Council Service is separate to the Topsham to Turf Ferry which runs independently

The weather forecast may lead to postponement or cancellation of ferry service. If in doubt please ring the ferry phone during the advertised times:

Payments for use of the ferry can be made on board using contactless cards or cash.

 

June opening times

Wed 22 June 9.30 am 5.30 pm

Thu 23 June 10.15 am to 5.30 pm

Fri 24  June 11.00 am to 5.30pm

Sat 25 June 12.15 pm to 5.30 pm

Sun 26 June 1.00 pm to 5.30 pm

Wed 29 June 9.30 am to 11.45 am & 4.00 pm to 5.30 pm

Thu 30 June to 9.30 am to 12.15 pm

 

July opening times

Fri 1 July 9.30 am to 1.00 pm

Sat 2 July 9.30 am to 1.30 pm

Sun 3 July 9.30 am to 2.00 pm

Mon 4 July Closed

Tue 5 July Closed

Wed 6 July 9.30 am to 3.30 pm

Thu 7 July 9.30 am to 4.30 pm

Fri 8 July 9.30 am to 5.30 pm

Sat 9 July 10.30 am to 5.30 pm

Sun 10 July 11.30 am to 5.30 pm

Mon 11 July Closed

Tue 12 July Closed

Wed 13 July 9.30 am to 11.00 am & 3.00 pm to 5.30 pm

Thu 14 July 9.30 am to 11.30 am & 4.00 pm to 5.30 pm

Fri 15 July 9.30 am to 12.45 pm 

Sat 16 July 10.30 am 1.15 pm

Sun 17 July 10.45 am to 2.30 pm

Mon 18 July Closed

Tue 19 July Closed

Wed 20 July 9.30 am to 4.30 pm

Thu 21 July 9.30 am to 5.00 pm

Fri 22 July 9.30 am to 5.30 pm

Sat 23 July 1030 am to 5.30 pm

Sun 24 July 11.15 am to 5.30 pm

Mon 25 July Closed

Tue 26 July Closed

Wed 27 July 9.30 am to 1045 am & 2.45 pm to 5.30 pm

Thu 28 July 9.30 am to 11.30 am & 3.30 pm to 5.30 pm

Fri 29 July 9.30 am to 12.00 midday & 4.00 pm to 5.30 pm

Sat 30 July 9.30 am to 12.45 pm & 4.45 pm to 7.30 pm

Sun 31 July 9.30 am to 1.15 pm

 


 

The ferry runs across the river Exe, between the landing in Ferry Road, Topsham, and the western bank of the river by Topsham Lock Cottage. There is no road access to Topsham Lock but it is on the Exe Estuary Trail cycling and walking route.

The ferryman can be contacted during advertised operating times on 07801 203338.

 

Fares

  • Single fare £1.50 per person (under 5 years old free)
  • Return fare £3.00 per person (under 5 years old free)
  • Bicycles 80p
  • Dogs and pushchairs free

We accept contactless card payment and cash.

Due to cargo weight restrictions a maximum of 6 pedal power bicycles or 4 battery powered bicycles can be carried at any one time.

When this content has been updated

Last updated 22 June 2022