Cookies information

exeter.gov.uk uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Close banner

Topsham Ferry

Exeter City Council Topsham Ferry (by Passage House, Ferry Road)

Our ferry runs across the river Exe, between the landing in Ferry Road at Topsham, and Topsham Lock on the western bank of the river.

Please note: The Exeter City Council Service is separate to the Topsham to Turf Ferry which runs independently

The weather forecast may lead to postponement or cancellation of ferry service. If in doubt please ring the ferry phone during the advertised times:

Payments for use of the ferry can be made on board using contactless cards or cash.

 


 

The ferry runs across the river Exe, between the landing in Ferry Road, Topsham, and the western bank of the river by Topsham Lock Cottage. There is no road access to Topsham Lock but it is on the Exe Estuary Trail cycling and walking route.

The ferryman can be contacted during advertised operating times on 07801 203338.

 

Fares

  • Single fare £2.00 per person (under 5 years old free)
  • Return fare £4.00 per person (under 5 years old free)
  • Bicycles £1.50
  • Water Taxi £7.00
  • Dogs and pushchairs free

We accept contactless card payment and cash.

Due to cargo weight restrictions a maximum of 6 pedal power bicycles or 4 battery powered bicycles can be carried at any one time.

 

Ferry operating times

July 2024

Fri 5 July Closed due to weather forecast - please contact ferryman for further information

Sat 6 July Closed due to weather forecast - please contact ferryman for further information

Sun 7 July 9.30am to 12.45pm and 4.30pm to 5.30pm

Mon 8 July Closed

Tue 9 July Closed

Wed 10 July 9.30am to 2.30pm

Thu 11 July 9.30am to 3.00pm

Fri 12 July 9.30am to 3.30pm

Sat 13 July 9.30am to 4.00pm

Sun 14 July 9.30am to 4.30pm

Mon 15 July Closed.

Tue 16 July Closed

Wed 17 July 11.00am to 5.30pm

Thu 18 July 12.00pm to 5.30pm

Fri 19 July 1.30pm to 5.30pm

Sat 20 July 9.30am to 10.30am and 2.30pm to 5.30pm

Sun 21 July 9.30am to 11.30am and 3.30pm to 5.30pm.

Mon 22 July Closed

Tue 23 July 9.30am to 1.00pm

Wed 24 July 10.00am to 2.00pm

Thu 25 July 11.00am to 2.30pm

Fri 26 July 9.30am to 3.00pm

Sat 27 July 9.30am to 3.30pm

Sun 28 July 9.30am to 4.00pm

Mon 29 July Closed

Tue 30 July 9.30am to 5.30pm

Wed 31 July 11.00am to 5.30pm

When this content has been updated

Last updated 5 July 2024