Cookies information

exeter.gov.uk uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Close banner

Topsham Ferry

Exeter City Council Topsham Ferry (by Passage House, Ferry Road)

Our ferry runs across the river Exe, between the landing in Ferry Road at Topsham, and Topsham Lock on the western bank of the river.

Please note: The Exeter City Council Service is separate to the Topsham to Turf Ferry which runs independently

The weather forecast may lead to postponement or cancellation of ferry service. If in doubt please ring the ferry phone during the advertised times:

Payments for use of the ferry can be made on board using contactless cards or cash.

June 2021

  • Mon 21 June - 12.00 am to 5.30 pm
  • Tue 22 June - CLOSED
  • Wed 23 June - CLOSED 
  • Thu 24 June - 9.30 am to 10.30 am and 3.30 pm to 5.30pm 
  • Fri 25 June - 9.30 am to 11.30 am and 4.00 pm to 5.30 pm 
  • Sat 26 June - 9.30 am to 12.30 pm
  • Sun 27 June - 9.30 am to 1.00 pm
  • Mon 28 June - 9.30 am to 2.00 pm
  • Tue 29 June - CLOSED
  • Wed 30 June - CLOSED

July 2021

  • Thu 1 July - 9.30 am to 4.00 pm
  • Fri 2 July - 9.30 am to 5.00 pm
  • Sat 3 July - 9.30 am to 5.30 pm
  • Sun 4 July - 10.30 am to 5.30 pm
  • Mon 5 July - 11.30 am to 5.30 pm
  • Tue 6 July - CLOSED
  • Wed 7 July - CLOSED
  • Thu 8 July - 9.30 am to 10.15 am and 2.15 pm to 5.30 pm
  • Fri 9 July - 9.30 am to 11.00 am and 3.15 pm to 5.30 pm
  • Sat 10 July - 9.30 am to 12.00 and 3.30 pm to 5.30 pm
  • Sun 11 July - 9.30 am to 12.45 and 4.30 pm to 5.30 pm
  • Mon 12 July - 9.30 am to 1.00 pm
  • Tue 13 July - CLOSED
  • Wed 14 July - CLOSED
  • Thu 15 July - 9.30 am to 3.00 pm
  • Fri 16 July - 9.30 am to 3.30 pm
  • Sat 17 July - 9.30 am to 4.00 pm
  • Sun 18 July - 9.30 am to 5.00 pm
  • Mon 19 July - 9.30 am to 5.30 pm
  • Tue 20 July - CLOSED
  • Wed 21 July - CLOSED
  • Thu 22 July - 2.00 pm to 5.30 pm
  • Fri 23 July - 9.30 am to 10.00 am and 3.00 pm to 5.30 pm
  • Sat 24 July - 9.30 am to 11.00 and 3.30 pm to 5.30 pm
  • Sun 25 July - 9.30 am to 12.45 pm
  • Mon 26 July - 9.30 am to 1.00 pm
  • Tue 27 July - CLOSED
  • Wed 28 July - 9.30 am to 2.15 pm
  • Thu 29 July - 9.30 am to 3.00 pm
  • Fri 30 July - 9.30 am to 3.30 pm
  • Sat 31 July - 9.30 am to 4.00 pm

August 2021

  • Sun 1 August - 9.30 am to 4.15 pm

 


 

The ferry runs across the river Exe, between the landing in Ferry Road, Topsham, and the western bank of the river by Topsham Lock Cottage. There is no road access to Topsham Lock but it is on the Exe Estuary Trail cycling and walking route.

The ferryman can be contacted during advertised operating times on 07801 203338.

 

Fares

One way fare £1.30 per person (under 5 years old free)

Dogs, bicycles, pushchairs etc 70p

Water Taxi to other vessels (at Ferryman’s discretion) £5.00

(Customers with electric bicycles may have to wait to be taken separately to other passengers if ferry is busy)

When this content has been updated

Last updated 22 June 2021